Lymington v New Milton – Presidents Cup Final 2016

Friday 15th July 2016 played at Fernhill

Lymington 126 for 4
New Milton 102 for 8

Lymington won by 24 runs.

On a cloudy evening at the Fernhill New Milton Sports Ground the Lymington captain Ed Ellis won the toss and elected to bat. Openers Richie Lock (76 not out) and Dominic Hand (21) put on 44 before the latter was out in the 8th over being stumped by Toby Edwards off Ryan Beck. Ben Rogers (5) was caught in the 11th over with the score on 59 and Ryan Scott (7) was out in the 15th over at 83. Ed Ellis {16} was bowled off the last ball with Richie Lock having hit eight 4’s and one 6 finishing not out. Lymington’s final score was 126 for 4 off the 18 overs.

In reply the Lymington opening bowlers Richard Nowell (4 overs 2 for 12) and Ed Freeman (2 overs 0 for 16) had New Milton on the back foot with Ryan Beck (2) caught behind by Ed Ellis. Richie Lock (4 overs 2 for 20) bowled tightly although Chris Blake conceded 14 runs in his one over but Dominic Hand (3 overs 2 for 17) and Simon Beetham (4 overs 2 for 21) pegged the New Milton batsmen back. Only Nick Park (28) and Toby Edwards (24) and New Zealander Dave Wakefield (17 not out) gave New Milton a small chance of overhauling Lymington’s total and eventually falling 24 runs short.

Vic Loveless President of the New Forest Club Cricket Association as well as Ray Mortimer organiser of the competition presented the Presidents Cup to Ed Ellis captain of the Lymington team and medals to the players and umpires and scorers.

Richie Lock was named man of the match by the umpires.

Recent Posts