Burridge v Lymington

Burridge 263 for 7 off 61.5 overs
Lymington 267 for 6 off 55.3 overs

On a cloudy windy morning the Lymington captain Simon Beetham won the toss and invited Burridge to bat. Opening bowlers Matt Metcalfe and Malcolm Lake (16.5 overs 1 for 71) were unable to make an initial breakthrough until the 13th over with the score at 52 Metcalfe had an lbw and then in the 15th over he picked up another wicket. Ed Freeman (10 overs 1 for 41) bowled a batsman in the 24th over and Guy Layman (4 overs 0 for 14) was replaced by Lake who picked up another wicket in the 30th over with the score at 132. Richie Lock (13 overs 0 for 53) was unable to make any inroads to the opposition batting as was Dominic Hand (2 overs 0 for 11) however the return of Metcalfe (16 overs 5 for 66) in the 51st over produced dividends when in the 57th over he had Marcus Campopiano(60) caught and then took another 2 wickets. Burridge declared after 61.5 overs with the score on 263 for 7 leaving Lymington 59 overs to get them.

Lymington openers Malcolm Lake (45) and Ben Rogers (36) reached 71 in the 9th over with Lake being caught after hitting 4 fours and 3 sixes and Rogers bowled in the 16th over having hit 5 fours. Unfortunately Ryan Scott (16) was caught and Richie Lock (0) bowled second ball and Calvin Dickinson (8) was caught and suddenly after a good start Lymington were 108 for 5 in the 20th over. But the sides strength in batting proved itself by Ed Ellis (52) and Simon Beetham (41 not out) assisting Dominic Hand (58 not out) into passing Burridge’s score in the 56th over with 4 wickets in hand.

Lymington had  23 points with their win and it keeps them top of the Premier Division league after 8 matches just 3 points in front of Bashley (Rydal).

Recent Posts